Winterlight - The Longest Sleep Through The Darkest Days


The Longest Sleep Through The Darkest Days \ CD/Digital/LP

  • Calm Then A Storm
  • I Can't Start Being Happy For Feeling Sad
  • Risen Again
  • Stretch Out And Away I Go
  • Hinterland
  • The Closer We Come
  • The Longest Sleep
"The Longest Sleep Through The Darkest Days" is the sophomore album from Plymouth shoegaze post-pop electronic project Winterlight. The project was originally a solo endeavor started by Tim Ingham back in the mid-oughts but now sees his daughter Isabel taking on bass guitar duties. This new album is the culmination of nearly seven years of on and off creative spurts, false starts, and second guesses reflecting the turmoil hinted at in the album’s title. Yet those that follow Winterlight know Tim’s been making music pretty much all along and releasing occasional demos via his Soundcloud. This lengthy process has yielded one resounding result: If it ain't broke, don't fix it. "The Longest Sleep Through The Darkest Days" has all the Winterlight earmarks: divine organs, thoughtfully constructed drums, the occasional electronic flourish and, Oh... Those immaculately soaring guitars! While Ingham considers Winterlight to be post-pop, and for the most part the duo still brings those melodies to the table in spades, there are some unique changes happening under the surface in the album's bookends that move way beyond simple ear candy. This shows The Inghams are starting to take risks while still staying true to the original vision for the project. "The Longest Sleep Through The Darkest Days" is out March 16th on Compact Disc, 180gm Transparent Green vinyl and 180gm ultra clear with green splatter vinyl. Learn more about Winterlight

other n5MD releases from Winterlight