Near The Parenthesis - Intervals

Near The Parenthesis

Intervals \ Digital/LP

  • Center
  • Second
  • There are no Waves
  • Only the Ocean
  • Muse
  • Intervals
  • Oslo
  • Silhouette
Intervals is the eighth album from Tim Arndt's Near the Parenthesis. For Intervals, Arndt's chose the family piano to begin the creative process. By placing less importance on the skittering rhythms, which propelled previous Near the Parenthesis collections, Arndt was able to focus more on the instant gratification of sitting down and just playing. These ideas became the backbone in which he then composed eight tidal tracks, mostly in the early morning hours in his East San Franciso Bay creekside home. In these sessions, Arndt utilized various synths, and percussion to provide additional depth and atmosphere to the tracks' original skeletal structures. Arndt says of Intervals, "The title has a dual meaning as there has been a decent period of time between my previous album Helical and the release of Intervals, Four years to be exact. This concept of time and the spaces between gives the title its other connotation, which is a nod to musical intervals and the spaces between notes. I think this becomes evident in my use of arpeggiation, which I feel is a grounding motif across the album." As with many Arndt's Near The Parenthesis works, there is a gentile hopefulness sewn through Intervals forty-minute runtime that provides much-needed solace in such unsettling times. Intervals will be out on October 16th on white vinyl, which is limited to 200 units worldwide. Learn more about Near The Parenthesis

other n5MD releases from Near The Parenthesis